Treatment Pilonidal Sinus

Conservative treatment Pilonidal Sinus

Healing without surgery? Can you treat one Pilonidal Sinus yourself?

Thecause of Pilonidal Sinus is hair that has penetrated under the skin. A lasting healing of the fistula only occurs if the hairs in the fistula tract are removed. 

The hairs are often firmly attached to the fistula capsule. Only in the early stages can they be completely pulled out or "brushed out".

Each Pilonidal Sinus has an entrance gate. In the case of a fistula that has not been pre-operated on, this is the Pit or PorusAt the recurring Pilonidal Sinus often a funnel-shaped retraction at the lower scar pole.

This entry portal is lined with skin (epithelized) if the fistula has existed for a long time. Consequently, it cannot heal on its own.

Conservative therapy for Pilonidal Sinus

With conservative measures you can

  • gain time if an operation is not immediately possible or desired
  • create optimal conditions for the intervention in preparation for surgery 
  • achieve stable healing in the post-operative treatment after an operation.
Our referral light:

Sections highlighted in green describe a treatment that we recommend

We consider yellow-shaded therapy options to be suitable under certain circumstances

Red indicates that we consider the treatment unsuitable or that it is not offered in Germany

hair removal

Is hair removal in the area of the gluteal fold useful?

Where does the hair that you Pilonidal Sinusfind in a cave come from? 

  • The hair mainly comes from hair roots in the area of the gluteal fold
  • New studies show that hair from the head can also be found in the fistula ducts, hair from the back only rarely. Short, freshly cut hair from the neck seems to penetrate the skin most easily.
  • Furthermore, it happens that deposits of keratin dandruff due to a disturbed hair formation lead to an expansion of the hair root. 

In my experience, a hair-free gluteal fold reduces the risk of healing disorders after surgery. Many supposed relapses are in fact poorly healed operation scars (type IV fistulas), which could probably have been avoided by consistent hair removal in the early phase after an operation.

However, procedures that only remove the visible hair parts (shaving, epilation, waxing, sugering) cannot influence the hair root in depth and thus the risk of a real relapse.

The penetration of loose hair from other parts of the body is best achieved by covering with a closed bandage.

shaving

Useful, no matter or harmful?

Everything for an optimal Pilonidal Sinus post-operative treatment
Alcohol-free antiseptic, hospital razor and bikinizon razor

We observe in the course of post-operative care that 90% of all problems are caused by mechanical irritation of the wound by the surrounding hair.

We therefore recommend shaving until the wound is closed and the scar is stable. In the early phase of wound healing, the scar tissue is still soft and vulnerable, so that hairs can reattach. 

The easiest way to shave is with the simple disposable razors ("hospital razors", e.g. from Wilkinson®) after spraying with an alcohol-free antiseptic (e.g. Octenisept®). The viscous consistency of this product ensures that the razor glides effortlessly over the skin and the shaved stubble does not fall into the wound. The antiseptic effect prevents skin irritations. A bikini line razor may be helpful in areas that are difficult to reach. The use of clippers or beard trimmers should also work.

Tips for a successful shave can be found in our video:

By clicking on this link button you leave our website and use the offer of Youtube. We have no influence on the collection of personal data and its processing and storage in computer centres outside the validity of the DSGVO.

Epilating, waxing, sugering

Better than shaving?

In conventional epilation, the hairs are torn out with a rotating tweezer system (e.g. Braun Silk-épil, Philips SatinPerfect), wax strips or a sugar paste.

Pulling on the hair causes the hair to break off just above the hair root, the root and growth zone are not removed. Externally, there will be hair free for a few weeks, but the hair will always grow back.

This epilation technique is mainly suitable for cosmetic hair removal. It seems unlikely that it can prevent the formation of onePilonidal Sinus . In contrast, for post-operative treatment after radical surgery, depilation may be a means of preventing the hair from growing from the side into the still open surgical wound.

Epilation
Mechanical depilation © istockphoto.com

Laser Hair Removal

Even the best surgical technique cannot guarantee a 100% success rate. If a fistula occurs again after an operation, either new "pits" have formed or hairs have drilled into the less stable scar tissue. This problem can be prevented if the hair roots in the critical area are permanently inactivated by light energy. A recent study showed a halving of the recurrence rate after surgery from 19.7% to 9.3% after laser hair removal.

ointments

Has an herb grown against the Pilonidal Sinus?

Abscess Ointments, "Train Ointments"

These preparations are registered as traditional medicinal products without registration studies solely on the basis of many years of use for the area of application. They are intended to promote the "maturation" and spontaneous opening of encapsulated centres of pus (abscesses). Since most abscesses burst at some point if you wait long enough, the benefit of these preparations does not seem to be proven.

  • ilon® Ointment classic (successor product to ilon® Abscess Ointment): Ingredients are larch turpentine (Terebinthina veneta), turpentine oil of the beach pine type eucalyptus oil, white vaseline, yellow wax, stearic acid, oleic acid, polysorbate 20, rosemary oil, thyme oil, thymol, chlorophyll-copper complex (E141), butylhydroxytoluene (E321). My literature - research on "turpentine" and "abscess" only revealed the reference to the use since 2000 years, the causation of abscesses by turpentine injection in experimental animals and studies on contact allergies caused by turpentine. 
  • Ichtholan 50% ® Ointment contains the active ingredient ammonium bituminosulfonate (ichthyol), yellow vaseline, microcrystalline hydrocarbons (C40-C60), wool wax and purified water. Ichthyol belongs to the group of sulfonated shale oils and has been used since the 19th century as an anti-inflammatory and antibacterial agent in dermatology, in higher concentrations of 20 - 50 % also for abscesses. The medical database PubMed does not find a single study on the treatment of abscesses for this active substance either.

antibiotics

Antibiotics are not treatment of first choice. They can help to contain an acute inflammation and thus save time. In the case of acute symptoms, e.g. on holiday, such treatment can sometimes bridge the time until the patient is able to return home. However, the success of antibiotic treatment is a matter of luck:

There is always a mixed spectrum of different bacteria, so that broad-spectrum antibiotics are necessary (e.g. cefuroxime, amoxicillin/clavulanic acid). However, it is quite possible that the bacteria causing the inflammation are resistant to the antibiotic used or that the antibiotic does not reach a sufficient level of effectiveness at the site of inflammation. A healing of the fistula can never be achieved with antibiotics. 

Antibiotics for Pilonidal Sinus
Antibiotics for Pilonidal Sinus

Phenol - Instillation

(not available in Germany)

The method was first described by Lawrence and Greenwood in 1964. They state a cure in 84% of cases. 

Girgin reports a success rate of 64.5% for single and 95% for repeated introduction of crystalline phenol into the fistula tract. The treatment is carried out under local anaesthesia, the hair is removed from the fistula tract with a clamp and the tract is rinsed. The surrounding area is kept hair-free during the entire healing period.

According to German drug law, phenol may no longer be used (negative monograph Pharm. Ztg. 143 (1997), 4103 and 4386). It is toxic and irritates skin and mucous membranes.

The accompanying measures correspond to a restrained pit picking. An additional benefit of the phenol therefore does not seem to me to be proven.

phenol2.svg
Chemical formula of phenol © By NEUROtiker
Studies on phenol instillation
Author
Year
Quantity
% Follow up
Years Follow up
% Recurrence
% Complication
Maurice
1964
21
Not specified
1,5
19
Not specified
Aygen
2010
36
100
4,5
13,9
8,3
Girl
2012
48
96
1,83
5,0
Not specified
Calikoglu
2017
70
95,9
3,3
14,3
8,6
Dogru
2020
1026
Not specified
Not specified
15,7
Not specified

Vaseline, Henna and Tetracycline - the mixture from Iraq

(not available in Germany)

A randomized study on 400 patients was published by the University of Sulaymani in Kurdistan. In the therapy group a mixture of 100 g vaseline, 50 g henna powder (Lawsonia inermis) and 5 g tetracycline was injected into the fistula tract. In the control group the fistula was excised with primary wound closure. Healing rates were 94 % for surgery and 89 % for ointment injection. Unfortunately, I did not find any information in the work on the follow-up rate and the observation period. Conclusion: Unconventional idea, assessment not possible.

Ayurvedic medicine

(not available in Germany)

Traditionally in Ayurvedic medicine, thread drains impregnated with plant extracts and salts are used for fistula treatment. A publication can be found on a Combination of surgical excision, sclerotherapy with hot oil and application of copper sulphate. The scientific findings on these methods allow only anecdotal mention, but no evaluation of the procedure.

food supplement

With an otherwise balanced diet, we are of the opinion that a specific dietary supplement is not necessary.

Live smoke-free

We don't need to tell you that smoking is not healthy. That smoking at Pilonidal Sinus least doubles the recurrence rate after an operation might interest you after all. And for acne inversa, smoking is the major risk factor. If you want, we have some good ones. Tips on how to quit smoking easier than you think you can!

Follow-up treatment after surgery of a pilonidal sinus

- just as important as the intervention itself!

There is no doubt that most problems and also so-called recurrences arise after an operation due Pilonidal Sinusto an unsuccessful or neglected follow-up treatment. In the following we want to explain which measures are indispensable from our point of view and which are of questionable value.

Ardelt, M., & Settmacher, U. (2016). Limberg Flap Is Rhombic, Not Rhomboid. Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, 137(2), 494e-495e

Azab AS, Kamal MS, Saad RA, Abou al Atta KA, Ali NA. Radical cure of pilonidal sinus by a transposition rhomboid flap. Br J Surg. 1984;71(2):154-155

Azab, A., Kamal, M., & el Bassyoni, F. (1987). The rationale of using the rhomboid fasciocutaneous transposition flap for the radical cure of pilonidal sinus. The journal of dermatologic surgery and oncology, 12(12), 1295-9.

Banerjee, D. (1999). The aetiology and management of pilonidal sinus. Journal of Wound Care, 8(6), 309-310.

Bascom, J. (1983). Pilonidal disease: Long-term results of follicle removal. Diseases of the Colon & Rectum, 26(12), 800-807

Delshad, H., Dawson, M., Melvin, P., Zotto, S., & Mooney, D. (2019) Pit-picking resolves pilonidal disease in adolescents. Journal of Pediatric Surgery, 54(1), 174-176.

Iesalnieks, I., Deimel, S., & Schlitt, H. (2014). "Pit-picking" surgery in patients with pilonidal sinus. The surgeon, 86(5), 482-485.

Karydakis, G. (1974). New approach to the problem of pilonidal sinus. Lancet (London, England), 2(7843), 1414-5.0

Karydakis, G. E. (1992). Easy and successful treatment of pilonidal sinus after explanation of its causative process. Anz Journal of Surgery, 62(5), 385-389.

Limberg AA. Modern trends in plastic surgery. Design of local flaps. Mod Trends Plast Surg. 1966;2:38-61

Lord, P., & Millar, D. (1965). Pilonidal sinus: A simple treatment. British Journal of Surgery, 52(4), 298-300.

Melhorn, S., & Staubach, P. (2019). Ammonium bituminosulfonate. The dermatologist, OnlineFirst, 1-3

Pronk, A., Eppink, L., Smakman, N., & Furnee, E. (2017). The effect of hair removal after surgery for sacrococcygeal pilonidal sinus disease: a systematic review of the literature. Techniques in Coloproctology, 22(1), 7-14.

Salih, A., Kakamad, F., Salih, R., Mohammed, S., Habibullah, I., Hammood, Z., Aziz, M., & Baba, H. (2018). Nonoperative management of pilonidal sinus disease: one more step toward the ideal management therapy-a randomized controlled trial. Surgery, 164(1), 66-70.

Tripathy, R., John, N., Vijayalekshmi, S., Nair, N., & Pasupalan, S. (2019). Taila Dāha (Cauterization with Oil) to Innovative Approach in Pilonidal Sinus. Ancient science of life, 36(2), 104-109.

  • x

Behandlung Steißbeinfistel

Konservative Behandlung Steißbeinfistel

Heilung ohne Operation? Kann man eine Steißbeinfistel selbst behandeln?

Ursache einer Steißbeinfistel sind  unter die Haut eingedrungene Haare. Eine nachhaltige Heilung der Fistel tritt nur ein, wenn die Haare im Fistelgang entfernt werden. 

Die Haare sind häufig mit der Fistelkapsel fest verwachsen. Nur im Frühstadium lassen sie sich vollständig herausziehen oder “ausbürsten”.

Jede Steißbeinfistel hat eine Eintrittspforte. Bei der nicht voroperierten Fistel ist das der Pit oder Porus, bei der wiederkehrenden Steißbeinfistel häufig eine trichterförmige Einziehung am unteren Narbenpol.

Diese Eintrittspforte ist bei längerem Bestehen der Fistel von Haut ausgekleidet (epithelisiert). Demzufolge kann sie von selbst nicht zuheilen.

Konservative Therapie bei Steißbeinfistel

Mit konservativen Maßnahmen können Sie

  • Zeit gewinnen, wenn eine Operation nicht sofort möglich oder gewünscht ist
  • optimale Bedingungen für den Eingriff schaffen in der Vorbereitung auf eine Operation 
  • in der Nachbehandlung nach einer Operation eine stabile Ausheilung erreichen.
Unsere Empfehlungs-Ampel:

Grün unterlegte Abschnitte beschreiben eine aus unserer Sicht empfehlenswerte Behandlung

Gelb unterlegte Therapieoptionen halten wir für geeignet unter bestimmten Umständen

Rot signalisiert, daß wir die Behandlung für ungeeignet halten oder daß sie in Deutschland nicht angeboten wird

Haarentfernung

Ist die Haarentfernung im Bereich der Gesäßfalte sinnvoll?

Woher kommen die Haare, die man in der Höhle einer Steißbeinfistel findet? 

  • Hauptsächlich stammen die Haare aus Haarwurzeln im Bereich der Gesäßfalte
  • Neue Studien belegen, daß auch Haare vom Kopf in den Fistelgängen gefunden werden können, Haare vom Rücken nur selten. Kurze, frisch geschnittene Haare vom Nacken scheinen am leichtesten in die Haut einzudringen.
  • Weiterhin kommt es vo, daß Ablagerungen von Keratin-Schuppen infolge einer gestörten Haarbildung zu einer Aufdehnung der Haarwurzel führen. 

Eine haarfreie Gesäßfalte vermindert nach meiner Erfahrung das Risiko von Heilungsstörungen nach Operationen. Viele vermeintliche Rückfälle sind in Wahrheit schlecht verheilte Operationsnarben (Typ IV Fisteln), die sich durch konsequente Haarentfernung in der frühen Phase nach einer Operation wahrscheinlich hätten vermeiden lassen.

Verfahren, die lediglich die sichtbaren Haaranteile entfernen (Rasur, Epilation, Waxing, Sugering) können allerdings die Haarwurzel in der Tiefe und damit das Risiko eines echten Rezidivs nicht beeinflussen.

Das Eindringen loser Haare aus anderen Körperregionen lässt sich am ehesten durch Abdeckung mit einem geschlossenen Verband erreichen.

Rasieren

Nützlich, egal oder schädlich?

Alles für eine optimale Nachbehandlung nach Steißbeinfistel OP
Alkoholfreies Antiseptikum, Krankenhaus-Rasierer und Bikinizone-Rasierer

Wir beobachten im Verlauf nach Operationen, dass 90 % aller Probleme von einer mechanischen Irritation der Wunde durch die Haare der Umgebung herrühren.

Wir raten daher zur Rasur, bis die Wunde geschlossen und die Narbe stabil ist. In der frühen Phase der Wundheilung ist das Narbengewebe noch weich und verletzlich, sodass sich Haare wieder einspießen können. 

Am leichtesten gelingt die Rasur mit den einfachen Einweg – Rasierern (“Krankenhausrasierer“, z.B. von Wilkinson®) nach Einsprühen mit einem alkoholfreien Antiseptikum (z.B. Octenisept®). Die visköse Konsistenz dieses Mittels sorgt dafür, daß der Rasierer mühelos über die Haut gleitet und die abrasierten Stoppeln nicht in die Wunde fallen. Die antiseptische Wirkung beugt Hautirritationen vor. In schwer zugänglichen Regionen kann ein Bikinizone-Rasierer hilfreich sein. Die Verwendung von Clippern oder Bartschneidern sollte auch funktionieren.

Tips für die erfolgreiche Rasur finden Sie in unserem Video:

Mit Click auf diesen Link-Button verlassen Sie unsere Website und nutzen das Angebot von Youtube. Auf die Erhebung von personenbezogenen Daten und deren Verarbeitung und Speicherung in Rechenzentren außerhalb der Gültigkeit der DSGVO haben wir keinen Einfluß.

Epilieren, Waxen, Sugering

Besser als Rasieren?

Beim herkömmlichen Epilieren werden die Haare mit einem rotierenden Pinzettensystem (z.B. Braun Silk-épil, Philips SatinPerfect), mit Wachs-Streifen oder einer Zuckerpaste ausgerissen.

Durch dem Zug am Haar reißt das Haar knapp oberhalb der Haarwurzel ab, die Wurzel  und die Wachstumszone werden nicht mit entfernt. Äußerlich besteht zwar für einige Wochen Haarfreiheit, das Haar wird aber immer wieder nachwachsen.

Diese Epilations-Technik eignet sich hauptsächlich für die kosmetische Haarentfernung. Es scheint mir unwahrscheinlich, dass dadurch die Bildung einer Steißbeinfistel verhindert werden kann.  Im Gegensatz dazu ist für die Nachbehandlung nach Radikaloperation vielleicht auch die Epilation ein Mittel zu verhindern, dass die Haare von der Seite in die noch offene Operationswunde einwachsen.

Epilation
Mechanische Epilation © istockphoto.com

Laser Haarentfernung

Auch die beste Operationstechnik kann keine 100-prozentige Erfolgsrate garantieren. Wenn nach einem Eingriff erneut eine Fistel auftritt, sind entweder neue „pits” entstanden oder Haare haben sich die weniger stabilen Narbenanteile gebohrt. Diesem Problem kann man vorbeugen, wenn man die Haarwurzeln im kritischen Bereich durch Licht Energie dauerhaft inaktiviert. Eine neuere Studie zeigte eine Halbierung der Rezidivrate nach Operation von 19.7 % auf 9,3 % nach Laser Haarentfernung.

Salben

Ist schon ein Kraut gewachsen gegen die Steißbeinfistel?

Abszess-Salben, "Zugsalben"

Diese Präparate sind als traditionelle Arzneimittel ohne Zulassungsstudien ausschließlich auf Grund langjähriger Anwendung für das Anwendungsgebiet registriert. Sie sollen die “Reifung” und spontane Eröffnung abgekapselter Eiterherde (Abszesse) fördern. Nachdem die meisten Abszesse irgendwann platzen, wenn man nur lang genug wartet, scheint mir der Nutzen dieser Präparate nicht belegt.

  • ilon® Salbe classic (Nachfolgeprodukt von ilon® Abszess-Salbe): Bestandteile sind Lärchenterpentin (Terebinthina veneta), Terpentinöl vom Strandkiefern-Typ Eukalyptusöl, Weißes Vaselin, Gelbes Wachs, Stearinsäure, Ölsäure, Polysorbat 20, Rosmarinöl, Thymianöl, Thymol, Chlorophyll- Kupfer-Komplex (E141), Butylhydroxytoluol (E321). Meine Literatur – Recherche zu “Terpentin” und “Abszess” ergab lediglich den Hinweis auf die Verwendung seit 2000 Jahren, die Verursachung von Abszessen durch Terpentininjektion bei Versuchstieren und Studien zu Kontaktallergien durch Terpentin. 
  • Ichtholan 50% ® Salbe enthält den Wirkstoff Ammoniumbituminosulfonat (Ichthyol), Gelbes Vaselin, mikrokristalline Kohlenwasserstoffe (C40-C60), Wollwachs und gereinigtes Wasser. Ichthyol gehört zu den sulfonierten Schieferölen wird seit dem 19. Jahrhundert als entzündungshemmender und antibakterieller Wirkstoff in der Dermatologie verwendet, in höheren Konzentrationen von 20 – 50 % auch beim Abszeß. Auch zu diesem Wirkstoff findet die medizinische Datenbank PubMed keine einzige Studie zur Behandlung von Abszessen.

Antibiotika

Antibiotika sind nicht Behandlung der ersten Wahl. Sie können helfen, eine akute Entzündung einzudämmen und damit Zeit zu gewinnen. Bei akuten Beschwerden z.B. im Urlaub kann eine solche Behandlung unter Umständen die Zeit bis zur Heimreise überbrücken. Der Erfolg einer antibiotischen Behandlung ist allerdings etwas Glücksache:

Es findet sich immer ein gemischtes Spektrum verschiedener Bakterien, so daß Breitband-Antibiotika notwendig sind (z.B. Cefuroxim, Amoxicillin/Clavulansäure). Es kann aber durchaus sein, dass die entzündungsverursachenden Bakterien gegen das verwendete Antibiotikum resistent sind oder das das Antibiotikum  keinen ausreichenden Wirkspiegel am Ort der Entzündung erreicht. Eine Heilung der Fistel kann mit Antibiotika keinesfalls erreicht werden. 

Antibiotika bei Steißbeinfistel
Antibiotika bei Steißbeinfistel

Phenol - Instillation

(in Deutschland nicht verfügbar)

Die Methode wurde von Lawrence und Greenwood 1964 erstmals beschrieben. Sie geben eine Heilung in 84 % der Fälle an. 

Girgin berichtet über eine Erfolgsrate von 64,5 % bei einmaliger und von 95 % bei wiederholter Einbringung von kristallinem Phenol in den Fistelgang. Die Behandlung erfolgt in Lokalanästhesie, die Haare werden aus dem Fistelgang mit einem Klemmchen entfernt, der Gang gespült. Die Umgebung wird während der gesamten Heilungszeit haarfrei gehalten.

Phenol darf nach deutschem Arzneimittelrecht nicht mehr verwendet werden (Negativmonographie Pharm. Ztg. 143 (1997), 4103 und 4386). Es ist giftig und reizt Haut und Schleimhäute.

Die begleitenden Maßnahmen entsprechen einem zurückhaltenden Pit Picking. Ein zusätzlicher Nutzen des Phenols scheint mir daher nicht bewiesen.

Phenol2.svg
Chemische Formel von Phenol © Von NEUROtiker
Studien zu Phenol Instillation
Autor
Jahr
Anzahl
% Follow up
Jahre Follow up
% Rezidiv
% Komplikation
Maurice
1964
21
Keine Angabe
1,5
19
Keine Angabe
Aygen
2010
36
100
4,5
13,9
8,3
Girgin
2012
48
96
1,83
5,0
Keine Angabe
Calikoglu
2017
70
95,9
3,3
14,3
8,6
Dogru
2020
1026
Keine Angabe
Keine Angabe
15,7
Keine Angabe

Vaseline, Henna und Tetracyclin - die Mischung aus dem Irak

(in Deutschland nicht verfügbar)

Von der Universität Sulaimani in Kurdistan wurde eine randomisierte Studie an 400 Patienten veröffentlicht. In der Therapiegruppe wurde eine Mischung aus 100 g Vaseline, 50 g Henna Pulver (Lawsonia inermis) und 5 g Tetracyclin in den Fistelgang injiziert. In der Kontrollgruppe erfolgte die Ausschneidung der Fistel mit primärem Wundverschluss. Als Heilungsraten wurden 94 % für die Operation und 89 % für die Salbeninjektion angegeben. Leider habe ich in der Arbeit keine Information zur Nachuntersuchungsrate und dem Beobachtungszeitraum gefunden. Fazit: Unkonventionelle Idee, Beurteilung nicht möglich.

Ayurvedische Medizin

(in Deutschland nicht verfügbar)

Traditionell werden in der ayurvedischen Medizin mit Pflanzenextrakten und Salzen imprägnierte Fadendrainagen zur Fistelbehandlung verwendet. Eine Publikation findet sich zu einer Kombination aus chirurgischer Ausschneidung, Verödung mit heißem Öl und Aufbringen von Kupfersulfat. Die wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse zu diesen Methoden lassen nur die anekdotische Erwähnung, aber keine Beurteilung des Verfahrens zu.

Nahrungsergänzung

Bei einer ansonsten ausgewogenen Ernährung sind wir der Meinung, dass eine spezifische Nahrungsergänzung nicht notwendig ist.

Rauchfrei leben

Daß Rauchen nicht gesund ist, brauchen wir Ihnen nicht zu erzählen. Daß Rauchen die Rezidivrate nach Operation einer Steißbeinfistel mindestens verdoppelt, interessiert Sie vielleicht doch. Und für die Akne inversa ist Rauchen der wichtigste Risikofaktor. Wenn Sie möchten, haben wir ein paar gute Tips, wie Sie das Rauchen leichter aufhören können, als Sie denken!

Die Nachbehandlung nach Operation eines Sinus pilonidalis

– genauso wichtig wie der Eingriff selbst!

Ohne Zweifel entstehen die meisten Probleme und auch sogenannten Rezidive nach Operation einer Steißbeinfistel aufgrund einer nicht zielführenden oder vernachlässigten Nachbehandlung. Im folgenden wollen wir erläutern, welche Maßnahmen aus unserer Sichtunverzichtbar Und welche von fraglichem Wert sind.

Ardelt, M., & Settmacher, U. (2016). Limberg Flap Is Rhombic, Not Rhomboid. Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, 137(2), 494e-495e

Azab AS, Kamal MS, Saad RA, Abou al Atta KA, Ali NA. Radical cure of pilonidal sinus by a transposition rhomboid flap. Br J Surg. 1984;71(2):154–155

Azab, A., Kamal, M., & el Bassyoni, F. (1987). The rationale of using the rhomboid fasciocutaneous transposition flap for the radical cure of pilonidal sinus. The Journal of dermatologic surgery and oncology, 12(12), 1295-9.

Banerjee, D. (1999). The aetiology and management of pilonidal sinus. Journal of Wound Care, 8(6), 309-310.

Bascom, J. (1983). Pilonidal disease: Long‐term results of follicle removal. Diseases of the Colon & Rectum, 26(12), 800–807

Delshad, H., Dawson, M., Melvin, P., Zotto, S., & Mooney, D. (2019). Pit-picking resolves pilonidal disease in adolescents. Journal of Pediatric Surgery, 54(1), 174-176.

Iesalnieks, I., Deimel, S., & Schlitt, H. (2014). „Pit-picking“-Operation bei Patienten mit Sinus pilonidalis. Der Chirurg, 86(5), 482-485.

Karydakis, G. (1974). New approach to the problem of pilonidal sinus. Lancet (London, England), 2(7843), 1414-5.0

Karydakis, G. E. (1992). Easy and successful treatment of pilonidal sinus after explanation of its causative process. Anz Journal of Surgery, 62(5), 385-389.

Limberg AA. Modern trends in plastic surgery. Design of local flaps. Mod Trends Plast Surg. 1966;2:38–61

Lord, P., & Millar, D. (1965). Pilonidal sinus: A simple treatment. British Journal of Surgery, 52(4), 298-300.

Melhorn, S., & Staubach, P. (2019). Ammoniumbituminosulfonat. Der Hautarzt, OnlineFirst, 1-3

Pronk, A., Eppink, L., Smakman, N., & Furnee, E. (2017). The effect of hair removal after surgery for sacrococcygeal pilonidal sinus disease: a systematic review of the literature. Techniques in Coloproctology, 22(1), 7-14.

Salih, A., Kakamad, F., Salih, R., Mohammed, S., Habibullah, I., Hammood, Z., Aziz, M., & Baba, H. (2018). Nonoperative management of pilonidal sinus disease: one more step toward the ideal management therapy—a randomized controlled trial. Surgery, 164(1), 66-70.

Tripathy, R., John, N., Vijayalekshmi, S., Nair, N., & Pasupalan, S. (2019). Taila Dāha (Cauterization with Oil) an Innovative Approach in Pilonidal Sinus.. Ancient science of life, 36(2), 104-109.

  • x