Inflammation of the gluteal fold due to ingrown hairs

Pilonidal Sinus Cause, origin and forms

Pilonidal Sinus Cause and origin

From the initial stage to chronic fistula disease

Origin of the pilonidal sinus, risk factors and course of the disease

Pilonidal Sinus Cause: The Pit. A small hole in the buttock fold is both the cause and often the first sign. Through this opening, hair has entered the subcutis. Often you can see several of these openings, by which you can recognize the Pilonidal Sinus . They all open into the same fistula cavity.

Hair is made of keratin. Our body can form keratin but cannot break it down. As a result, hair is treated as a foreign body. Experts agree that penetrated hair is the cause of Pilonidal Sinus .

A sheath of scar tissue forms, the fistula capsule is formed. The capsule prevents the chronic inflammatory process from spreading. The specialist speaks of a foreign body granuloma.

Can a Pilonidal Sinus become dangerous? Don't worry, a Pilonidal Sinus is never the cause of a fistula to the intestine, bone or spinal cord.

Nor is a congenital malformation of embryonic development the cause of a Pilonidal Sinus.

From the appearance fistulas in acne inversa and anal fistulas can be confused with a Pilonidal Sinus . The cause of acne inversa is often smoking, and anal fistula - inflammation of a proctodeal gland.

All about Pilonidal Sinus Cause and origin

Schematic drawing: Emergence Pilonidal Sinus

Pilonidal Sinus Cause and origin explained in the schematic diagram
Schematic drawing of a Pilonidal Sinus (1 normal hair root, 2 dilated hair root with broken hairs, 3 inflammation due to impaled hairs, 4 large pit, 5 small pit, 6 secondary fistula opening, 7 impaled loose hair, 8 fistula cavity with embedded hairs, 9 granulation tissue). Sites 1 and 7 correspond to the initial stage of the fistula
Where does the hair in the Pilonidal Sinus come from ?

The "pit" - cause of the pilonidal sinus

In the removal of the pits lies the key to healing
Numerous Pits - the Pilonidal Sinus cause
Sinus pilonidalis with numerous pits of different sizes

Lord called the openings or entry ports found in the middle of the gluteal fold at each Pilonidal Sinus pit. They are also called porus (lat. passage, gate) or primary fistula. They like to hide in the depth of the fold. The presence of pits reliably identifies the Pilonidal Sinus.

Some patients have only single, others a multitude of these openings strung like pearls. Removal of the pits is the decisive measure for healing the Pilonidal Sinus.

The size of these pits ranges from barely visible black dots to holes several millimetres in size. Sometimes there are broken off, loose hairs in them, from some of them a whitish, pasty secretion can be expressed like a blackhead(comedo).

The pits are lined with skin and therefore cannot close by themselves. They become the entry point for bacteria and thus the cause of recurring inflammation. Ardelt found out that primarily anaerobic and Gram-negative bacteria play a role, and increasingly aerobic and Gram-positive bacteria play a role in recurrence.

Thus, the ... pilonidal sinus, despite differing opinions... is an infected foreign body granuloma.

He dispelled notions of embryonic developmental disorder: Patey, D. (1970). The Principles of Treatment of Sacrococcygeal Pilonidal Sinus. Proceedings of the Royal Society of Medicine, 63(9), 939-940.

BASCOM: Pits arise from hair roots

Pilonidal Sinus Origin Theory I:Impaling Broken Hair
The most frequent mechanism of the development is certainly the breaking off and impaling of the hair fragments in the hair root (follicle)

"Contrary to popular belief, the origin of most pilonidal (fistulas) is apparently not due to (impaled) hair shafts. Instead, hair follicles appear to be the source." (Bascom 1980)

In the microscope Bascom saw a gradual development from a normal hair root (follicle) to a pit. He described pits from early to advanced porus side by side in the same patient. Often all the hairs in a fistula were of equal length and had a terminal end. Broken hairs and keratin and skin scales filled the hair root.

Furthermore, suction forces when sitting down and standing up could be measured ("the pit sucks").

Stages of Pilonidal Sinus Emergence: 1 Normal, 2 and 3 Pilonidal Sinus Early stage, 4 - 6 Pilonidal Sinus Emergence
Emergence of the pit from a hair root (redrawn according to Bascom, 1 normal, 2 dilated, 3 infected follicle, 5 acute, 6 chronic abscess, 7 terminal stage of a duct lined with skin

KARYDAKIS: Pits are created by impaling loose hairs.

Pilonidal Sinus Emergence Theory II:Impaling loose hair in the buttock crease
More rarely, hair from the back or head can also impale itself into the skin
Hair Ultrastructure
Grooves and barbs through the horny scales favour the penetration of a hair (drawing after electron microscope preparation by DOLL et al.)

Arrowheads and barbs

For Karydakis the matter was clear. He is convinced that the pits are formed by impaling broken hairs. Scanning electron microscopic studies by Dahl (1992) support the theory that split hair fragments with needle-like, sharp ends bore into intact skin.

The scales of keratin act like barbs. With the side formerly facing the root ahead, the hair works its way deeper and deeper into the skin.

Page was able to prove experimentally in 1969 that a hair can penetrate several centimeters into a minimal opening after only 30 minutes when sitting with the end near the root first. The structure of the hair scales causes a screw-like anchorage. Consequently, once a hair has been impaled, it can no longer detach itself.

Searching for clues with a microscope and a forensic scientist

Recent investigations of Doll and Bosche at least 20-30% of patients seem to support this theory. Especially hairs from the neck area were often found in the fistula. Therefore, frequent visits to the hairdresser and haircuts with short shaved neck hairwould be a risk factor for a Pilonidal Sinus.

We may find loose hair from the neck or back inside the fistula tube in 10-20% of our patients. At each presentation, loose hairs of varying length lie in the gluteal fold. We have also seen unusual sources of penetrating hair, such as curls of more than 10 cm length (from the girlfriend) in a young man with a brush haircut and grey-black short hair (from the sled dog) in a blonde woman with long hair.

Hair growth in the fistula tunnel?

malformation of the hair follicles
An orderly growth of tender hairs inside the fistula tract is rarely observed

In isolated cases, an orderly, brush-like image of a lawn of delicate, short hairs is found in an incised fistula tube. 

I have not found this form described in the medical literature and have no explanation for this form of appearance.

What factors actually increase the risk of a Pilonidal Sinus?

Risk factors for the Pilonidal Sinus

Facts and myths

With regard to our own patients we have the impression that the cliché of the very hairy, overweight and much sweating Pilonidal Sinus patient does not have much to do with reality. In most cases we see an average hair density.

Therefore, we would like to research in medical publications which circumstances actually increase the risk for a Pilonidal Sinus . The following table ("under construction") will give you an overview of the study results.

Studies on risk factors
Author
Year
m : w
Hairy
Family
Hygiene
Overweight
Smoking
Sitting
Exposure
Sweating
Sondenaa
2004
2,2 : 1
21 %
38 %
7 %
39 % / 29 %
n.d.
44 %
n.d.
n.d.
Franckowiak
1962
3 : 1
+
- –
n.d.
67 % / 37 %
n.d.
n.d.
n.d.
n.d.
test

Probable risk factors

(Strong) hairiness

Lots of hair = high risk? There is no Pilonidal Sinus before puberty. Many of the patients affected by a Pilonidal Sinus are said to have a denser and stronger than average hair. In a Norwegian study, on the other hand, the number of patients with low hairiness was greater.

It is possible that the percentage of intensely hairy patients depends more on the latitude at which the study is conducted. Consequently, a study from the north of Europe would find less intense hairiness among the patients with Pilonidal Sinus than a study from the Mediterranean region. The reliability of the classification also seems questionable to me, since hardly any study indicates the methodology with which the density of hairiness was measured.

Dark and strong hair is simply perceived more than hair that is equally strong in number but less conspicuous with a lower pigment content and diameter of the hair.

Male gender

Men are affected by coccygeal fistula 2-3 times more often than women. Therefore, the diagnosis is often made late in women. We have quite a few female patients who have been diagnosed with Pilonidal Sinus despite having delicate, barely visible hairs. In the follow-up treatment one has to be especially careful that these regrowing hairs do not disturb the healing process.

Family history

Relatives of Pilonidal Sinus patients seem to have a slightly higher risk (Yildiz). It is not uncommon for several siblings to have Pilonidal Sinus. Familial clusters are also repeatedly reported over several generations. However, research has not yet found a molecular, genetic factor that would be responsible for this.

Sitting activity

Who doesn't have them? Much of our lives are spent sitting down, at school and university, in the office or in the car. Yet statistics from the armed forces show that motorists and low-ranking soldiers are at a significantly higher risk of developing Pilonidal Sinus than officers. Especially driving on bumpy roads or off-road seems to promote the development or even the inflammation of an existing Pilonidal Sinus ("Jeep disease").

Questionable risk factors

Overweight?

Some studies found overweight as measured by BMI > 25 more common in patients with Pilonidal Sinus than in the control group (e.g., equivalent to a body weight over 90 kg in a 185 cm tall, 20-year-old man). A study in Turkey found no difference in weight distribution in 419 patients compared to the control group. Our patients, on the other hand, are almost all normal weight or athletic.

Lack of hygiene?

You don't get Pilonidal Sinus just from not washing enough. Studies have found an increased risk of developing Pilonidal Sinus if you shower or bathe less than three times a week. In Europe, this should only apply to a minority of patients.

Smoking?

Smokers do not have hair-related Pilonidal Sinus more frequently than non-smokers. In contrast, the transitions to acne inversa, which is common in smokers, are fluid.

These mixed forms are more likely to develop chronic inflammatory complications, scarring and recurrence.

If a scientific study does not precisely differentiate between sinus pilonidalis and acne inversa, this worsens the statistical chance of smokers to be cured. Even textbooks of dermatology like to throw these different clinical pictures into one drawer.

Regardless, smoking is not healthy and interferes with wound healing. Take the treatment of Pilonidal Sinus as an opportunity to stop smokingand start a healthy future.

Sweating?

Heavy sweating, especially in combination with tight-fitting clothing, may facilitate the penetration of broken or cut hairs by softening the skin. In the course of wound healing we have not noticed any disadvantage for patients with sweaty work or sporting activity.

Thongs and thongs?

Boxer shorts seem to be the current standard for men's underpants. They allow air circulation and are probably beneficial for skin health as well.

In the course of aftercare following Pilonidal Sinus surgery, on the other hand, tight-fitting underpants have proved their worth, often making it unnecessary to stick the bandage on tightly.

The friction of thongs and thongs could theoretically promote the impaling of hair. Study results on this topic are not available.

Occupational exposure to dust and hair?

Surprisingly, exposure to dust and textile particles does not seem to play a major role either in the development of Pilonidal Sinus or in healing after surgery. Only the occurrence of hair-related fistulas on the fingers in hairdressers as an occupational disease is known.

Does a Pilonidal Sinus always cause symptoms?

Pilonidal Sinus Emergence: 3 courses

The doctor distinguishes the acute, chronic and blanching form

These three forms of Pilonidal Sinus differ only in the extent of inflammation and filling condition of the fistula cavity.

Bland shape

"Blande" in medicine refers to mild or absent symptoms. The early stages of Pilonidal Sinus often go unnoticed or the symptoms are mild. Nonspecific pain occurs when sitting on hard chairs or lying on a hard floor. It feels like a "pimple" or bruise. Sometimes there is no discomfort other than a visible opening in the buttock crease area. 

The blanched form is most likely to be seen in specialist practice during screening examinations, e.g. skin cancer screening. Also in screening and recruitment examinations for the police and military, previously unknown coccygeal fistulas are found again and again. A Study from Turkey study found that the prevalence of the bland form was almost twice as high (8.3 %) as that of the symptomatic form (4.6 %).

Acute form

A pilonidal abscess can develop within a few days. The underlying Pilonidal Sinus already existed unnoticed before. The typical manifestation of this acutely abscessed form with a reddened, painful bump on the buttocks or in the coccyx region can be recognised at a glance. However, the externally visible symptoms can also be minor. The patient is in severe pain, although not much can be seen. On close inspection, a hardening can be felt and the skin appears conspicuous. The pits are often not visible due to swelling. Sometimes patients report that the pain started after a fall. A causal relationship cannot be explained. It is not uncommon for complaints to occur after prolonged sitting, as in schoolchildren and office workers or after long air travel.

Chronic form

Some patients have only slight pain and notice the presence of the fistula only by chance or due to the secretion of blood or pus. The colonization of the pilonidal fistula by the bacteria always present in this region can cause a very unpleasant odor. The capsule often contains many collagen fibers and feels hard like a cartilage ("knob") on the coccyx, so that it presses uncomfortably when sitting for a long time without really hurting. Sometimes patients discover small openings in the gluteal fold area themselves.

Pilonidal Sinus back?

Causes of relapse (recurrence)

Did a new fistula "grow" there?

They had finally decided to have the fistula operated on. The operation was performed. Everything had gone well. The aftercare was tedious. And now the wound has not closed completely, or the scar has burst open again. That's despairing! What are we going to do now? Operate again? Find a wound specialist? Live with the fistula?

The first thing to do is to find out why there has been a recurrence.

  • The fistula was not completely removed: the most common in this situation is overlooked "pits".
  • The wound never heals well at all: almost always the cause is ingrown hairs from the side or the lower pole of the scar. This is what we call a type IV pseudorecurrence.
  • There is a second fistula, independent of the distant one, which has now become conspicuous
  • A new fistula has indeed developed according to the same mechanism described above on this page.

Entzündung der Gesäßfalte durch eingewachsene Haare

Steißbeinfistel Ursache, Entstehung und Formen

Steißbeinfistel Ursache und Entstehung

Vom Anfangsstadium bis zum chronischen Fistelleiden

Entstehung des Sinus pilonidalis, Risikofaktoren und Verlaufsformen

Steißbeinfistel Ursache: Der Pit. Ein kleines Loch in der Pofalte ist zugleich Ursache und oft erstes Anzeichen. Durch diese Öffnung sind Haare in die Unterhaut (Subkutis) gelangt. Oft sieht man mehrere dieser Öffnungen, an denen Sie die Steißbeinfistel erkennen können. Sie münden alle in die gleiche Fistelhöhle ein.

Haare bestehen aus Keratin. Unser Körper kann Keratin zwar bilden, aber nicht abbauen. Infolgedessen werden die Haare als Fremdkörper behandelt. Experten sind sich einig, daß eingedrungene Haare Ursache der Steißbeinfistel sind.

Eine Hülle aus Narbengewebe bildet sich, die Fistelkapsel entsteht. Die Kapsel verhindert eine Ausbreitung des chronisch entzündlichen Prozesses. Der Fachmann spricht vom Fremdkörpergranulom.

Kann eine Steißbeinfistel gefährlich werden? Keine Sorge, eine Steißbeinfistel ist nie die Ursache einer Fistel zu Darm, Knochen oder Rückenmark.

Auch ist nicht eine angeborene Fehlbildung der embryonalen Entwicklung Ursache einer Steißbeinfistel.

Vom Aussehen können Fisteln bei Akne inversa und Analfisteln mit einer Steißbeinfistel verwechselt werden. Die Ursache einer Akne inversa ist häufig das Rauchen, bei der Analfistel die Entzündung einer Proktodealdrüse.

Alles zu Steißbeinfistel Ursache und Entstehung

Schemazeichnung: Entstehung Steißbeinfistel

Steißbeinfistel Ursache und Entstehung im Schemabild erklärt
Schemazeichnung einer Steißbeinfistel (1 normale Haarwurzel, 2 erweiterte Haarwurzel mit abgebrochenen Haaren, 3 Entzündung durch eingespießte Haare, 4 großer Pit, 5 kleiner Pit, 6 sekundäre Fistelöffnung, 7 eingespießtes, loses Haar, 8 Fistelhöhle mit eingelagerten Haaren, 9 Granulationsgewebe). Die Stellen 1 und 7 entsprechen dem Anfangsstadium der Fistel
Woher kommen die Haare in der Steißbeinfistel?

Der "Pit" - Ursache des Sinus pilonidalis

In der Entfernung der Pits liegt der Schlüssel zur Heilung
Zahlreiche Pits - die Steißbeinfistel Ursache
Sinus pilonidalis mit zahlreichen Pits unterschiedlicher Größe

Lord bezeichnete die bei jeder Steißbeinfistel in der Mitte der Gesäßfalte zu findende Öffnungen bzw. Eintrittspforten als Pit. Sie werden auch Porus (lat. Durchgang, Tor) oder Primärfistel genannt. Sie verstecken sich gerne in der Tiefe der Falte. Am Vorhandensein von Pits erkennt man verläßlich die Steißbeinfistel.

Manche Patienten haben nur einzelne, andere eine Vielzahl dieser perlschnurartig aufgereihten Öffnungen. Die Entfernung der Pits ist die entscheidende Maßnahme zur Heilung der Steißbeinfistel.

Die Größe dieser Pits reicht von kaum sichtbaren, schwarzen Punkten bis zu einigen Millimeter großen Löchern. Manchmal stecken abgebrochene, lose Haare darin, aus manchen läßt sich wie bei einem Mitesser (Komedo) ein weißliches, pastöses Sekret ausdrücken.

Die Pits sind mit Haut ausgekleidet und können sich daher von selbst nicht mehr schließen. Sie werden zur Eintrittspforte von Bakterien und damit zur Ursache wiederkehrender Entzündung. Ardelt fand heraus, daß primär anaerobe und gramnegative Bakterien, bei Rezidiv zunehmend aerobe und grampositive Bakterien eine Rolle spielen.

So ist der ... Pilonidalsinus ungeachtet unterschiedlicher Ansichten ... ein infiziertes Fremdkörpergranulom.

Er räumte mit Vorstellungen einer embryonalen Entwicklungsstörung auf: Patey, D. (1970). The Principles of Treatment of Sacrococcygeal Pilonidal Sinus. Proceedings of the Royal Society of Medicine, 63(9), 939-940.

BASCOM: Pits entstehen aus Haarwurzeln

Steißbeinfistel Entstehung Theorie I:Einspießen abgebrochener Haare
Häufigster Mechanismus der Entstehung ist sicher das Abbrechen und Einspießen der Haarfragmente in der Haarwurzel (Follikel)

“Im Gegensatz zu den gängigen Vorstellungen beruht die Entstehung der meisten Pilonidal- (fisteln) offenbar nicht auf (eingespießten) Haarschäften. Stattdessen scheinen die Haarfollikel die Quelle zu sein.” (Bascom 1980)

Im Mikroskop sah Bascom eine schrittweise Entwicklung von einer normalen Haarwurzel (Follikel) zum Pit. Er beschrieb Pits vom Frühstadium bis zum fortgeschrittenen Porus nebeneinander beim gleichen Patienten. Häufig waren alle Haare in einer Fistel gleich lang und wiesen ein terminales Ende auf. Abgebrochene Haare sowie Keratin- und Hautschuppen füllten die Haarwurzel aus.

Weiterhin konnten Sogkräfte beim Hinsetzen und Aufstehen gemessen werden (“the pit sucks”).

Stadien der Steißbeinfistel Entstehung: 1 Normal, 2 und 3 Steißbeinfistel Frühstadium, 4 - 6 Steißbeinfistel Entstehung
Entstehung des Pits aus einer Haarwurzel (neu gezeichnet nach Bascom, 1 normaler, 2 aufgeweiteter, 3 infizierter Follikel, 5 akuter, 6 chronischer Abszess, 7 Endstadium eines mit Haut ausgekleideten Gangs

KARYDAKIS: Pits entstehen durch Einspießen von losen Haaren

Steißbeinfistel Entstehung Theorie II:Einspießen loser Haare in die Gesäßfalte
Seltener können auch Haare vom Rücken oder Kopf sich in die Haut einspießen
Haar Ultrastruktur
Rillen und Widerhaken durch die Hornschuppen begünstigen das Eindringen eines Haares (Zeichnung nach elektronenmikroskopischem Präparat von DOLL et al.)

Pfeilspitzen und Widerhaken

Für Karydakis war die Sache klar. Die Pits entstehen nach seiner Überzeugung durch Einspießen von abgebrochenen Haaren. Rasterelektronenmikroskopische Untersuchungen von Dahl (1992) stützen die Theorie, dass sich gespaltene Haarfragmente mit nadelartigen, scharfen Enden in die intakte Haut bohren.

Die Schuppen aus Keratin wirken wie Widerhaken. Mit der ehemals der Wurzel zugewandten Seite voraus arbeitet sich das Haar immer tiefer in die Haut.

Page konnte 1969 experimentell beweisen, daß ein Haar beim Sitzen mit dem wurzelnahen Ende voran schon nach 30 min mehrere Zentimeter in eine minimale Öffnung eindringen kann. Die Struktur der Haarschuppen bedingt eine schraubenartige Verankerung. Demzufolge kann sich ein einmal eingespießtes Haar nicht mehr von selbst lösen.

Mit dem Mikroskop und einem Forensiker auf Spurensuche​

Neuere Untersuchungen von Doll und Bosche scheinen zumindest 20 – 30 % der Patienten diese Theorie zu stützen. Vor allem Haare aus dem Nackenbereich fanden sich häufig in der Fistel. Demnach wären häufige Friseurbesuche und Haarschnitte mit kurz rasierten Nackenhaaren ein Risikofaktor für eine Steißbeinfistel.

Wir finden vielleicht bei 10-20 % unserer Patienten lose Haare vom Nacken oder Rücken im Inneren des Fistelschlauchs. Bei jeder Vorstellung liegen lose Haare unterschiedlicher Länge in der Gesäßfalte. Auch ungewöhnliche Quellen der eingedrungenen Haare haben wir schon gesehen, so über 10 cm lange Locken (von der Freundin) bei einem jungen Mann mit Bürstenhaarschnitt und grau-schwarze kurze Haare (vom Schlittenhund) bei einer blonden Frau mit Langhaarfrisur.

Haarwachstum im Fistel-Tunnel?

Fehlbildung der Haarfollikel
Selten beobachtet man ein geordnetes Wachstum zarter Haare im inneren des Fistelgangs

In Einzelfällen findet man in einem aufgeschnittenen Fistelschlauch ein geordnetes, bürstenartiges Bild eines Rasens von zarten, kurzen Haaren. 

Diese Form habe ich in der medizinischen Literatur nicht beschrieben gefunden und habe auch selbst keine Erklärung für diese Erscheinungsform.

Welche Faktoren erhöhen tatsächlich das Risiko für eine Steißbeinfistel?

Risikofaktoren für die Steißbeinfistel

Fakten und Mythen

Bezogen auf unsere eigenen Patienten haben wir den Eindruck, dass das Klischee vom stark behaarten, übergewichtigen und viel schwitzenden Steißbeinfistel Patienten mit der Realität nicht viel zu tun hat. In den meisten Fällen sehen wir eine durchschnittliche Behaarungsdichte.

Wir wollen daher einmal in medizinischen Publikationen recherchieren, welche Umstände tatsächlich das Risiko für eine Steißbeinfistel erhöhen. Die nachfolgende (“under construction”) Tabelle wird Ihnen einen Überblick über die Studienergebnisse geben.

Studien zu Risikofaktoren
Autor
Jahr
m : w
Behaarung
Familie
Hygiene
Übergewicht
Rauchen
Sitzen
Exposition
Schwitzen
Sondenaa
2004
2,2 : 1
21 %
38 %
7 %
39 % / 29 %
k.A.
44 %
k.A.
k.A.
Franckowiak
1962
3 : 1
+
k.A.
67 % / 37 %
k.A.
k.A.
k.A.
k.A.
test

Wahrscheinliche Risikofaktoren

(Starke) Behaarung

Viele Haare =  hohes Risiko? Vor der Pubertät gibt es keine Steißbeinfistel. Viele der von einer Steißbeinfistel betroffenen Patienten sollen eine überdurchschnittlich dichte und kräftige Behaarung aufweisen. In einer norwegischen Studie war hingegen die Zahl der Patienten mit geringer Behaarung größer.

Möglicherweise hängt der Prozentsatz stark behaarter Patienten mehr davon ab, auf welchem Breitengrad die Studie durchgeführt wird. Demzufolge würde eine Untersuchung aus dem Norden Europas weniger intensive Behaarung unter den Patienten mit Steißbeinfistel finden als eine Studie aus dem Mittelmeerraum. Auch die Zuverlässigkeit der Einordnung scheint mir fraglich, gibt doch kaum eine Studie die Methodik an, mit der die Dichte der Behaarung gemessen wurde.

Dunkle und kräftige Haare werden nicht zuletzt auch einfach mehr wahrgenommen als eine zahlenmäßig gleich starke, bei geringerem Pigmentgehalt und Durchmesser der Haare aber weniger auffällige Behaarung.

Männliches Geschlecht

Männer sind von Steißbeinfisteln 2 – 3 mal so häufig betroffen wie Frauen. Deshalb wird die Diagnose bei Frauen oft spät gestellt. Wir haben nicht wenige Patientinnen, die trotz zarter, kaum sichtbarer Haare eine Steißbeinfistel bekommen haben. In der Nachbehandlung muss man besonders aufpassen, dass diese nachwachsenden Haare nicht die Heilung stören.

Familienanamnese

Angehörige von Steißbeinfistel Patienten scheinen ein etwas höheres Risiko zu haben (Yildiz). Nicht selten  haben mehrere Geschwister eine Steißbeinfistel. Auch über mehrere Generationen werden immer wieder familiäre Häufungen berichtet. Die Forschung hat aber bis heute keinen molekularen, genetischen Faktor gefunden, der dafür verantwortlich wäre.

Sitzende Tätigkeit

Wer hat die nicht? Einen Großteil unseres Lebens verbringen wir im Sitzen, in der Schule und Universität, im Büro oder im Auto. Statistiken der Streitkräfte zeigen dennoch, daß Kraftfahrer und Soldaten niederen Ranges ein deutlich höheres Risiko für die Entwicklung einer Steißbeinfistel haben als Offiziere. Besonders das Fahren auf holprigen Straßen oder im Gelände scheint die Entstehung oder auch die Entzündung einer vorhandenen Steißbeinfistel zu fördern (“Jeep disease”)

Fragliche Risikofaktoren

Übergewicht?

Manche Studien fanden ein Übergewicht gemessen am BMI > 25 häufiger bei Patienten mit Steißbeinfistel als in der Kontrollgruppe (entspricht z.B. einem Körpergewicht über 90 kg bei einem 185 cm großen, 20 Jahre alten Mann). Eine Untersuchung in der Türkei fand keinen Unterschied in der Gewichtsverteilung bei 419 Patienten gegenüber der Kontrollgruppe. Unsere Patienten hingegen sind fast alle normalgewichtig oder athletisch.

Mangelnde Hygiene?

Man bekommt eine Steißbeinfistel nicht allein davon, dass man sich zu wenig wäscht. In Studien fand man ein erhöhtes Risiko der Entwicklung einer Steißbeinfistel, wenn man seltener als dreimal pro Woche duscht oder badet. Das dürfte in Europa nur auf eine Minderheit der Patienten zutreffen.

Rauchen?

Raucher haben nicht häufiger eine durch Haare verursachte Steißbeinfistel als Nichtraucher. Im Gegensatz dazu sind die Übergänge zu der bei Rauchern häufigen Akne inversa fließend.

Diese Mischformen entwickeln häufiger chronisch entzündliche Komplikationen, Vernarbungen und Rückfälle.

Wenn in einer wissenschaftlichen Studie nicht genau zwischen Sinus pilonidalis und Akne inversa differenziert wird, verschlechtert das die statistische Chance von Rauchern auf Heilung. Selbst Lehrbücher der Dermatologie werfen diese unterschiedlichen Krankheitsbilder gerne in eine Schublade.

Ungeachtet dessen ist Rauchen nicht gesund und und stört die Wundheilung. Nehmen Sie doch die Behandlung der Steißbeinfistel zum Anlaß, das Rauchen aufzuhören und damit in eine gesunde  Zukunft durchzustarten.

Schwitzen?

Starkes Schwitzen, insbesondere zusammen mit eng anliegender Kleidung, vermag vielleicht durch Aufweichen der Haut das Eindringen abgebrochener oder abgeschnittene Haare erleichtern. Im Verlauf der Wundheilung ist uns kein Nachteil für Patienten mit schweißtreibende Arbeit oder sportlicher Aktivität aufgefallen.

Strings und Tangas?

Boxershorts scheinen der aktuelle Standard für die Unterhose des Mannes zu sein. Sie lassen Luftzirkulation zu und sind wahrscheinlich vorteilhaft auch für die Hautgesundheit.

Im Verlauf der Nachbehandlung nach Steißbeinfistel Operation haben sich hingegen straff sitzende  Unterhosen bewährt, die ein Festkleben des Verbandes oft überflüssig machen.

Die Reibung von Strings und Tangas könnte theoretisch das Einspießen von Haaren begünstigen. Studienergebnisse zu diesem Thema sind nicht verfügbar.

Berufliche Exposition gegenüber Staub und Haaren?

Erstaunlicherweise scheint die Exposition gegenüber Staub und textilen Partikeln weder für die Entstehung der Steißbeinfistel noch für die Heilung nach Operationen eine große Rolle zu spielen. Bekannt ist lediglich das Auftreten von haarbedingten Fisteln an den Fingern bei Friseuren als Berufskrankheit.

Verursacht eine Steißbeinfistel immer Symptome?

Steißbeinfistel Entstehung: 3 Verlaufsformen

Der Arzt unterscheidet die akute, chronische und blande Form

Diese drei Formen der Steißbeinfistel unterscheiden sich lediglich im Ausmaß der Entzündung und Füllungszustand der Fistelhöhle.

Blande Form

“Blande” bezeichnet in der Medizin milde oder fehlende Symptome. Das Anfangsstadium einer Steißbeinfistel bleibt oft unbemerkt oder die Beschwerden sind gering. Unspezifische Schmerzen treten beim Sitzen auf harten Stühlen auf oder Liegen auf hartem Boden auf. Es fühlt sich an wie bei einem „Pickel“ oder einer Prellung. Manchmal treten außer einer sichtbaren Öffnung im Bereich der Gesäßfalte keinerlei Beschwerden auf. 

Die blande Form sieht man in der Facharztpraxis am ehesten noch bei Vorsorgeuntersuchungen, z.B. bei der Hautkrebs – Vorsorge. Auch bei Reihen- und Einstellungsuntersuchungen für Polizei und Militär finden sich immer wieder zuvor nicht bekannte Steißbeinfisteln. Eine Studie aus der Türkei fand eine mit 8,3 % fast doppelt so hohe Prävalenz der blanden Form gegenüber 4,6 % für die symptomatische Form.

Akute Form

Ein Pilonidalabszess kann sich innerhalb weniger Tage entwickeln. Die zugrundeliegende Steißbeinfistel existierte unbemerkt schon vorher. Die typische Ausprägung dieser akut abszedierenden Form mit einer geröteten, schmerzhaften Beule am Po bzw. in der Steißbeinregion erkennt man auf einen Blick. Die äußerlich sichtbaren Symptome können aber auch gering sein. Der Patient hat starke Schmerzen, obwohl man nicht viel sieht. Bei genauer Betrachtung ist eine Verhärtung zu tasten und die Haut wirkt auffällig. Die Pits sind schwellungsbeding oft nicht zu sehen. Manchmal berichten die Patienten, dass die Schmerzen nach einem Sturz begonnen hätten. Ein ursächlicher Zusammenhang ist nicht zu erklären. Nicht selten treten Beschwerden nach längerem Sitzen auf, wie bei Schülern und Büroangestellten oder nach langen Flugreisen.

Chronische Form

Manche Patienten haben nur leichte Schmerzen und bemerken das Vorhandensein der Fistel nur zufällig oder aufgrund der Absonderung von Blut oder Eiter. Die Besiedelung der Pilonidalfistel durch die in dieser Region immer vorhandenen Bakterien kann eine sehr unangenehme Geruchsentwicklung verursachen. Die Kapsel enthält oft viele Kollagenfasern und fühlt sich hart an wie ein Knorpel (“Knubbel”) am Steißbein, so dass es beim längeren Sitzen unangenehm drückt, ohne dass es richtig schmerzt. Manchmal entdecken die Patienten auch selbst kleine Öffnungen im Bereich der Gesäßfalte.

Steißbeinfistel wieder da?

Ursachen des Rückfalls (Rezidivs)

Ist da eine neue Fistel "gewachsen"?

Sie hatten sich endlich entschlossen, die Fistel operieren zu lassen. Die Operation wurde durchgeführt. Alles sei gut verlaufen. Die Nachbehandlung war mühsam. Und jetzt hat sich die Wunde nicht ganz geschlossen, oder die Narbe ist wieder aufgeplatzt. Das ist doch zum verzweifeln! Was soll man jetzt nur tun? Noch mal operieren? Einen Wundspezialisten suchen? Mit der Fistel leben?

Als erstes muss geklärt werden, warum es zu einem Rezidiv gekommen ist.

  • Die Fistel wurde nicht vollständig entfernt: am häufigsten findet man in dieser Situation übersehene “pits”
  • Die Wunde ist gar nie gut verheilt: fast immer sind die Ursache eingewachsene Haare von der Seite oder am unteren Pol der Narbe. Das nennen wir ein Pseudorezidiv vom Typ IV.
  • Es besteht eine zweite Fistel, unabhängig von der entfernten, die jetzt auffällig geworden ist
  • Es ist tatsächlich eine neue Fistel entstanden nach dem gleichen, oben auf dieser Seite beschriebenen Mechanismus