Healing with focused light

Laser Surgery - Laser Epilation

Laser treatment Pilonidal Sinus

Laser in medicine

What is so special about laser surgery?

The term laser evokes high-tech and precision. The patient expects an innovative and gentle treatment from a laser operation. The power of the bundled light should prevent bleeding and relapses and guarantee a short healing time.

This is why we have been using this technology since 2011. At Pilonidal Sinus Laser OP, a distinction is made between thermal sclerotherapy (FiLaC/SiLaC) and the removal of the fistula with a laser scalpel (laser sinusectomy).

In the post-operative treatment of a pilonidal sinus, Low Level Laser Therapy (LLLT) and laser hair removal are used.

  • Laser beams are monochromatic: visible light contains a continuous spectrum. The laser delivers a precisely defined wavelength. The selection of the wavelength controls where and how the laser works in the tissue.
  • One uses the effect of the selective photothermolysis. This means that a target structure (chromophore) absorbs the light of the wavelength used much more strongly than the surrounding tissue.
  • Laser beams are bundled and coherent: Lasers are characterized by a high energy density brought to the point. This enables us to achieve optimum protection of healthy tissue.
Scheme of absorption curves for medically relevant chromophores
By selecting the wavelength, a targeted therapy is achieved: The curve shows the absorption of different wavelengths in water, the blood pigment haemoglobin and the skin pigment melanin. The two wavelengths of our depilation laser, 800 and 950 nm, are close to the infrared range ("near infrared"). It is important to understand that this is a logarithmic representation. Melanin therefore absorbs the two wavelengths 10 x better than haemoglobin and 100 x stronger than water.
The history of the laser

Einstein and the laser

He had "a magnificent light", wrote the genius of the century in a letter in 1916.
Einstein and the laser
He laid the theoretical foundation for the development of the laser - Albert Einstein. © www.pixabay.com

When Albert Einstein studied the question of how stars emit their light, he succeeded in deriving "an amazingly simple law", which he then published under the title "Radiation emission and absorption according to quantum theory".

Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission of Radiation: On May 16, 1961, the American electrical engineer and physicist Theodor Maiman at the Hughes Research Laboratories succeeded in converting Einstein's flash of inspiration into a functional laser with the first ruby laser.

The publication of this pioneering act was initially rejected. Maiman was nominated twice for the Nobel Prize, but the highest scientific award went to his rival Charles Townes of Bell Labs.

Today, lasers are also indispensable in medicine. In particular, the diode lasers that followed Robert Hall's gallium arsenide laser in 1962 led medicine and surgery into a new era with the availability of handy, powerful lasers.

In 1967, while trying to treat tumours by laser at the University of Budapest, Endre Mester accidentally discovered the healing effect of low-energy laser radiation and thus laid the foundation for LLLT (low level laser therapy).

Laser equipment in our practice

The right tool for every purpose
Blue light for the laser operation of Pilonidal Sinus
New: Intros Dios Blue 470 nm
diode laser 470 nm

Intros Dios Blue

Laser surgery: sinusectomy, removal of warts, pigmented and vascular skin lesions

Despite its apparently low power of maximum 10 W, this laser opens up completely new possibilities for laser surgery: With its optimized effect on hemoglobin and melanin, it cuts precisely along the well perfused fistula capsule. The low penetration depth into the tissue protects the healthy environment even better than infrared lasers. The subcutaneous fatty tissue, which is rich in water due to the tumescent anaesthesia (a special form of local anaesthesia) we use, absorbs almost no energy at all, thermal collateral damage is minimised.

Diode laser for permanent hair removal (laser epilation)
Our MeDioStar NeXT from Asclepion is a powerful laser for hair removal
Diode laser with Wavelength Mix 810/940 nm

Asclepion MeDioStar NeXT

Permanent Hair Removal

Already in the Stone Age, more than 25000 years ago, people are said to have scraped off unwanted hair with sharp shells and stones. The Egyptians at the time of the Pharaohs mixed a depilatory paste made of sugar, lemon juice and rose water ("Halawa"). Permanent hair removal was only possible with electric current or light energy.

Hair removal now represents a worldwide growth market with an estimated volume of 1.35 billion dollars and annual growth rates of 10%. In medical applications, we benefit from this development through the availability of a mature and safe technology.

The melanin in the hair absorbs the energy of the laser. The hair is thereby heated to over 61°C, the hair root is inactivated. The integrated cooling system protects the skin.

Our hair roots are always in different growth phases. The laser works best on thick, pigmented hair in the Anagen phase. In the resting (telogen) phase, the hair root contains no hair and therefore does not absorb any energy. By repeating the treatment every 4 - 6 weeks, all hair roots are gradually reached once in the Anagen phase.

The treatment works the better, the lighter the skin and the darker the hair. In studies, laser treatment was twice as effective as electro depilation. Only with light blonde or white hair does the laser reach its limits.

We observe a very good treatment result after 4 - 8 treatments in a time interval of 4 - 6 weeks. A further treatment 6 months after the end of treatment seems to improve the long-term effect.

Author Year Quantity Follow up (months) % Recurrences Advantage laser
Conroy 2008 14 12 0 k. K.
Sample #2 Row 2, Content 1 Row 2, Content 2
Sample #3 Row 3, Content 1 Row 3, Content 2

diode laser 980 nm

Intros Lina-30i

Operations on the rectum, promotion of wound healing
Near infrared Laser, for anal surgeries and sealing of Pilonidal sinuses
Intros Lina 980 nm, diode laser

Laser surgery: Proctology

The near-infrared light at 980 nm is absorbed in equal measure by water and haemoglobin, the red blood pigment.

This laser is therefore a universally applicable laser scalpel for all laser operations on the anus.

In our hands, it has proven itself very well in operations on the rectum. The removal of anal fistulas, anal fissures and haemorrhoids can be performed precisely and with little bleeding. The focused energy is gentle on the surrounding tissue.

Wounds heal faster than with surgery using the common electro scalpel. The resulting scars are usually smooth and not very conspicuous and have sufficient elasticity and tear resistance. For the surgery of Pilonidal Sinus we now prefer the Intros Dios Blue Laser.

Low Level Laser Therapy (LLLT)

The effects of photobiostimulation are well studied 50 years after its discovery. LLLT has long been successfully used in the treatment of wounds in diabetic foot syndrome and venous leg ulcers.

Low intensity laser radiation (500 mW - 5 W) is used, which penetrates the tissue up to a maximum of 3 cm. The effect on wound healing is enhanced by applying dye solutions (methylene blue, toluidine blue) (photodynamic therapy PDT).

The treatment is performed 1 to 2 times a week, lasts about 5 minutes and is painless. The patients feel a pleasant deep warmth. Areas of application in our practice are anal venous thrombosis, chronic anal fissure and wound healing disorders after surgery of a Pilonidal Sinus. This therapeutic principle is also worth trying for stubborn eczema, nail fungus disease (onychomycosis), early stages of herpes simplex and psoriasis. 

  • Cellular mode of action: In the cellular domain, the focus is on activating the mitochondrial respiratory chain and increasing adenosine triphosphate (ATP) synthesis by up to 400 %. ATP is a universal
    energy carrier for all cell functions and thus promotes the stabilisation of the cell membrane via the enzyme calcium ATPase and the protein synthesis via transcription factors (NF-B).
  • Circulatory principle of action: In the area of wounds and inflammations, microcirculation is often disturbed and the tissue is undersupplied with oxygen and nutrients. After laser treatment, blood circulation is promoted by the release of vasoactive peptides (substance P and CGRP) and nitric oxide (NO). The NO molecule is known as a mediator in the treatment of circulatory disorders of the heart (angina pectoris) and the potency drug Viagra. It also promotes the formation of new capillaries (angiogenesis).
  • Anti-edematous mode of action: Edema is the increased accumulation of water in the tissue, which often occurs in the case of inflammation or injury. It has been shown that laser treatment leads to a stabilisation of the mast cells with the consequence of a reduced release of histamine. In addition, the improved microcirculation also contributes to the reduction of swelling.
  • Antiphlogistic (against inflammation) principle of action: mediators of inflammation, especially prostaglandins and TNF, are reduced after laser treatment, the cells of the immune system are stimulated. Bacteria, fungi and viruses are inhibited in their multiplication by laser energy.
  • Tissue reparative principle of action: in the first phase after an operation, wounds cleanse faster, in the healing phase that follows, the formation of new tissue is promoted by stimulating fibroblasts (connective tissue cells) and synthesis of elastic and collagen fibre proteins, and the formation of keloids is reduced.
  • Analgesic principle of action: The factors affecting the healing effect naturally also reduce wound pain. In addition, there is a stabilisation of the membrane potential of the sensitive nerves and a segmental pain-relieving effect through the release of endorphins at spinal level.
Ceralas 15
biolitec Ceralas 15, 1470 nm, 15 W
diode laser 1470 nm

Biolitec Ceralas 15

Laser surgery for fistulas and haemorrhoids

The biolitec was the first laser in my practice. This laser delivers light of one wavelength, which is well absorbed in water and is therefore particularly well absorbed in tissue containing water. It is the first choice for laser sclerotherapy of hemorrhoids, where the enlarged hemorrhoids are shrunk by applying the laser energy in the center of the node (laser hemorrhoidoplasty LHP). In addition, this laser is also well suited for FiLaC/SiLaC therapy of the pilonidal sinus and anal fistulas and for the treatment of varicose veins (varices).

Brienner Str. 13, 80333 München
Logo des Pilonidal Sinus Zentrum München
Heilung mit fokussiertem Licht

Laser Chirurgie - Laser Epilation

Laserbehandlung Steißbeinfistel

Laser in der Medizin

Was ist das Besondere an der Laser-Operation?

Der Begriff Laser läßt an Hightech und Präzision denken. Von einer Laser-OP erwartet sich der Patient eine innovative und schonende Behandlung. Die Kraft des gebündelten Lichts soll Blutungen und Rückfälle vermeiden und eine kurze Heilungszeit garantieren.

Deshalb setzen wir seit 2011 auf diese Technologie. Bei der Steißbeinfistel Laser OP unterscheidet man die thermische Verödung (FiLaC/SiLaC) von der Ausschälung der Fistel mit dem Laser-Skalpell (Laser-Sinusektomie).

In der Nachbehandlung nach Operation eines Sinus Pilonidalis kommen die Low Level Lasertherapie (LLLT) und die Laser Haarentfernung zum Einsatz.

  • Laserstrahlen sind monochromatisch: Sichtbares Licht enthält ein kontinuierliches Spektrum. Der Laser liefert eine genau definierte Wellenlänge. Die Auswahl der Wellenlänge steuert, wo und wie im Gewebe der Laser wirkt. 
  • Man nutzt den Effekt der selektiven Photothermolyse. Damit ist gemeint, daß eine Zielstruktur (Chromophor) das Licht der verwendeten Wellenlänge viel stärker aufnimmt als das umgebende Gewebe.
  • Laserstrahlen sind  gebündelt und kohärent: Laser zeichnen sich durch eine auf den Punkt gebrachte, hohe Energiedichte aus. Damit erreichen wir eine optimale Schonung gesunden Gewebes.
Schema der Absorptionskurven für medizinisch relevante Chromophore
Mit der Auswahl der Wellenlänge gelingt eine zielgerichtete Therapie: Die Kurve zeigt die Absorption verschiedener Wellenlängen in Wasser, dem Blutfarbstoff Hämoglobin und dem Hautfarbstoff Melanin. Die beiden Wellenlängen unseres Epilationslasers, 800 und 950 nm, liegen nahe des Infrarotbereichs (“near infrared”). Zum Verständnis ist wichtig, dass es sich um eine logarithmische Darstellung handelt. Melanin absorbiert also die beiden Wellenlängen 10 x besser als Hämoglobin und 100 x stärker als Wasser.
Zur Geschichte des Lasers

Einstein und der Laser

Ihm sei „ein prächtiges Licht“ aufgegangen, schrieb das Genie des Jahrhunderts 1916 in einem Brief.
Einstein und der Laser
Er legte den theoretischen Grundstein für die Entwicklung des Lasers - Albert Einstein. © www.pixabay.com

Als Albert Einstein sich mit der Frage beschäftigte, wie Sterne ihr Licht aussenden, gelang ihm die „verblüffend einfache Ableitung eines Gesetzes“, welches er dann unter dem Titel „Strahlungsemission und Absorption nach der Quantentheorie“ veröffentlichte.

Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission of Radiation: Am 16. May 1961 gelang es dem amerikanischen Elektroingenieur und Physiker Theodor Maiman in den Hughes Research Laboratories, mit dem ersten Rubin-Laser Einsteins Geistesblitz in einen funktionsfähigen Laser umzusetzen.

Die Publikation dieser Pioniertat wurde zunächst abgelehnt. Für den Nobelpreis wurde Maiman zweimal nominiert, die höchste wissenschaftliche Auszeichnung ging aber an seinen Konkurrenten Charles Townes von den Bell Labs.

Heute sind Laser auch aus der Medizin nicht mehr wegzudenken. Insbesondere die auf den Gallium-Arsenid-Laser von Robert Hall 1962 folgenden Diodenlaser führten die Medizin und Chirurgie durch die Verfügbarkeit von handlichen, leistungsfähigen Lasern in eine neue Ära.

1967 entdeckte Endre Mester an der Universität Budapest bei dem Versuch, Tumore durch Laser zu behandeln, zufällig die heilungsfördernde Wirkung niederenergetischer Laserstrahlung und legte damit den Grundstein für die LLLT (low level Laser therapy).

Laser Ausstattung unserer Praxis

Für jeden Zweck das passende Werkzeug
Blaues Licht für die Laser-Operation der Steißbeinfistel
Neu: Intros Dios Blue 470 nm
Diodenlaser 470 nm

Intros Dios Blue

Laser-Operationen: Sinusektomie, Entfernung von Warzen, pigmentierten und vaskulären Hautläsionen

Dieser Laser eröffnet trotz seiner scheinbar geringen Leistung von maximal 10 W ganz neue Möglichkeiten der Laser-Operation: Mit der optimierten Wirkung auf Hämoglobin und Melanin schneidet er präzise entlang der gut durchbluteten Fistelkapsel. Die geringe Eindringtiefe ins Gewebe schont die gesunde Umgebung noch besser als die Infrarot-Laser. Das durch die von uns verwendete Tumeszenz-Anästhesie (eine besondere Form der örtlichen Betäubung) wasserreiche Unterhaut-Fettgewebe nimmt die Energie fast gar nicht auf, thermische Kollateralschäden werden minimiert.

Diodenlaser zur dauerhaften Haarentfernung (Laserepilation)
Unser MeDioStar NeXT von Asclepion ist ein leistungsfähiger Laser zur Haarentfernung
Diodenlaser mit Wavelength Mix 810/940 nm

Asclepion MeDioStar NeXT

Permanente Haarentfernung

Schon in der Steinzeit vor über 25000 Jahren sollen Menschen sich mit scharfen Muscheln und Steinen unerwünschte Haare abgeschabt haben. Die Ägypter zur Zeit der Pharaonen mixten eine Enthaarungspaste aus Zucker, Zitronensaft und Rosenwasser („Halawa“). Eine dauerhafte Haarentfernung wurde erst durch elektrischen Strom oder Lichtenergie möglich.

Mittlerweile stellt die Haarentfernung einen weltweiten Wachstumsmarkt mit einem geschätzten Volumen von 1,35 Milliarden Dollar und jährlichen Steigerungsraten von 10 % dar. In der medizinischen Anwendung profitieren wir von dieser Entwicklung durch die Verfügbarkeit einer ausgereiften und sicheren Technologie.

Das Melanin im Haar absorbiert die Energie des Lasers. Das Haar wird dadurch auf über 60°C erhitzt, die Haarwurzel wird inaktiviert. Die integrierte Kühlung schützt die Haut.

Unsere Haarwurzeln befinden sich immer in  unterschiedlichen Wachstumsphasen. Am besten wirkt der Laser bei den dicken, pigmentierten Haaren der Anagen-Phase. In der Ruhe(Telogen-)phase enthält die Haarwurzel kein Haar und nimmt demzufolge keine Energie auf. Durch Wiederholung der Behandlung alle 4 – 6 Wochen erreicht man nach und nach alle Haarwurzeln einmal in der Anagen-Phase.

Die Behandlung funktioniert umso besser, umso heller die Haut und umso dunkler die Haare sind. Die Laserbehandlung war in Studien doppelt so effektiv wie die Elektro-Epilation. Nur bei hellblonden oder weißen Haaren stößt der Laser an seine Grenzen.

Wir beobachten ein sehr gutes Behandlungsergebnis nach 4 – 8 Behandlungen in einem zeitlichen Abstand von 4 – 6 Wochen. Eine weitere Behandlung 6 Monate nach Behandlungsabschluß scheint die Langzeitwirkung zu verbessern.

Diodenlaser 980 nm

Intros Lina-30i

Operationen am Enddarm, Förderung der Wundheilung
Laser mit near infrared Wellenlänge, für die Weichteilchirurgie anal und Steiißbeinfistel
Intros Lina 980 nm, Diodenlaser

Laser-Operationen: Proktologie

Das Nah-Infrarot Licht bei 980 nm wird im gleichen Maße von Wasser und Hämoglobin, dem roten Blutfarbstoff, resorbiert.

Dieser Laser ist damit ein universell einsetzbares Laser-Skalpell für alle Laser-Operationen am Anus.

In unseren Händen hat er sich sehr bewährt bei den Operationen am Enddarm. Die Entfernung von Analfisteln, Analfissuren und Hämorrhoiden läßt sich damit präzise und blutungsarm durchführen. Die fokussierte Energie schont das umgebende Gewebe.

Wunden heilen schneller als bei Operation mit dem gängigen Elektroskalpell. Die entstehenden Narben sind in der Regel glatt und wenig auffällig und weisen eine ausreichende Elastizität und Reißfestigkeit auf. Für die Operation der Steißbeinfistel bevorzugen wir mittlerweile den Intros Dios Blue Laser.

Low Level Laser Therapie (LLLT)

Die Effekte der Photobiostimulation sind 50 Jahre nach ihrer Entdeckung sehr gut untersucht. Die LLLT wird seit langem erfolgreich in der Wundbehandlung beim diabetischen Fußsyndrom und bei venös bedingten Beingeschwüren (Ulcus cruris) eingesetzt.

Man verwendet eine Laserstrahlung mit geringer Intensität (500 mW – 5 W), die bis maximal 3 cm in das Gewebe eindringt. Die Wirkung auf die Wundheilung wird durch Auftragen von Farbstofflösungen (Methylenblau, Toluidinblau) verstärkt (photodynamische Therapie PDT).

Die Behandlung wird 1 bis 2 mal wöchentlich durchgeführt, dauert etwa 5 Minuten und ist schmerzfrei. Die Patienten empfinden eine angenehme Tiefenwärme. Einsatzgebiete in unserer Praxis sind die Analvenenthrombose, die chronische Analfissur und die Wundheilungsstörung nach Operation einer Steißbeinfistel. Auch bei hartnäckigen Ekzemen, Nagelpilzerkrankung (Onychomykose), Frühstadium bei Herpes simplex und Schuppenflechte ist dieses Therapieprinzip einen Versuch wert. 

  • Zelluläres Wirkprinzip: Im Bereich der Zelle steht die Aktivierung der mitochondrialen Atmungskette und Steigerung der Adenosin-Triphosphat (ATP)-Synthese um bis zu 400 % im Vordergrund. Das ATP ist ein universeller
    Energieträger für alle Zellfunktionen und fördert dadurch die Stabilisierung der Zellmembran über das Enzym Calcium-ATPase und die Eiweiss-Synthese über Transkriptionsfaktoren (NF-􏰁B).
  • Zirkulatorisches Wirkprinzip: Im Bereich von Wunden und bei Entzündungen ist die Mikrozirkulation oft gestört und das Gewebe in Bezug auf Sauerstoff und Nährstoffe unterversorgt. Die Durchblutung wird nach Laserbehandlung durch Freisetzung vasoaktiver Peptide (Substanz P und CGRP) und Stickstoffmonoxid (NO) gefördert. Das NO-Molekül ist als Mediator der Behandlung von Durchblutungsstörungen am Herzen (Angina pectoris) und des Potenz-Mittels Viagra bekannt. Weiterhin wird die Neubildung von Kapillaren (Angiogenese) gefördert.
  • Antiödematöses Wirkprinzip: Als Ödem bezeichnet man die vermehrte Ansammlung von Wasser im Gewebe, wie sie oft bei Entzündungen oder Verletzungen auftritt. Es konnte gezeigt werden, dass die Laserbehandlung zu einer Stabilisierung der Mastzellen mit der Folge einer verminderten Ausschüttung von Histamin führt, darüber hinaus die verbesserte Mikrozirkulation auch zur Rückbildung von Schwellungszuständen beiträgt.
  • Antiphlogistisches (gegen Entzündung) Wirkprinzip: Mediatoren der Entzündung, v.a. die Prostaglandine und TNF􏰂, werden nach Laserbehandlung vermindert gebildet, die Zellen der Immunabwehr werden stimuliert. Bakterien, Pilze und Viren werden in ihrer Vermehrung durch Laserenergie gehemmt.
  • Gewebereparatives Wirkprinzip: in der ersten Phase nach einer Operation reinigen sich Wunden schneller, in der dann einsetzenden Heilungsphase wird die Bildung neuen Gewebes durch Stimulation von Fibroblasten (Bindegewebszellen) und Synthese von elastischen und kollagenen Faserproteinen gefördert, die Ausbilung von Keloiden vermindert.
  • Analgetisches Wirkprinzip: Die auf die heilungswirksamen Faktoren vermindern natürlich auch den Wundschmerz. Darüber hinaus kommt es zu einer Stabilisierung des Membranpotenzials der sensiblen Nerven und zu einer segmentalen schmerzlindernden Wirkung durch Ausschüttung von Endorphinen auf spinaler Ebene.
Ceralas 15
biolitec Ceralas 15, 1470 nm, 15 W
Diodenlaser 1470 nm

Biolitec Ceralas 15

Laser-Operation von Fisteln und Hämorrhoiden

Der biolitec war der erste Laser meiner Praxis. Dieser Laser liefert Licht einer Wellenlänge, welches in Wasser gut resorbiert wird und dadurch in wasserhaltigem Gewebe besonders gut resorbiert wird. Er ist die erste Wahl für die Laser-Verödung von Hämorrhoiden, bei der die vergrößerten Hämorrhoiden durch Anwendung der Laserenergie im Zentrum des Knotens geschrumpft werden (Laser-Hämorrhoidoplastie LHP). Daneben eignet sich dieser Laser auch gut für die FiLaC/SiLaC Therapie des Sinus pilonidalis und Analfisteln und zur Behandlung von Krampfadern (Varizen).

Dr. med. Bernhard Hofer & Kollegen

Homepage-Sicherheit

Facharzt für Chirurgie, Viszeralchirurgie und Proktologie

Brienner Str. 13

80333 München

Deutschland

Sprechzeiten:

Montag bis Freitag:

8.00 – 13.00

Montag bis Donnerstag:

14.00 – 18.00 Uhr

Fon

+49-89-292679

Fax

+49-89-29160900‬

© 2020 Pilonidal Sinus Zentrum München